RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

5 Minutes with Lelanie Black

In 5 Minutes, Lelani Black on February 22, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Lelanie Black Bio:

Lelani Black was born and raised in the tropics and spent many lazy days on island beaches sunbathing. She met her mis-match at a club in Waikiki, Hawaii and they’ve been making beautiful loud music ever since with a handful of amazing kids and a dog named Mylee. While she and her software-developer husband live in Colorado, she goes home to the Hawaiian islands every chance she gets.

When not shuttling kids to games or motocross races, she’s gourmet cooking, gardening, or trying to grow wine grapes. She can be found in the midnight hour in front of her computer spinning spicy stories that require romantic backdrops and sexy heroes and heroines.

Please give a big naughty welcome to Lelani Black.

What project are you currently working on? A freaky faerie romp–she meets her match in a handsome, hot son-of-a-warlord, AND a cruise-ship all-aboard for sex-on-the-high-seas happily ever-after that I’m now finishing, and having way too much fun with both.

What is your favorite snack? McDonald’s apple pie.

I have heard from numerous authors that chocolate is the staple of their diet. Is it in yours? I am nothing without chocolate.

If you could be one of your characters – Who would you be?  And why? …Any one of my heroines because my gorgeous heroes give it to them for hours, and hours, lol…

Who or what influences you when you write? My husband; his dry humor, wit, expert-loverness about him etc…music, travel, people, the occasional headline–it sounds so broad but many elements can come together all at once to form a unique story.

When you have writer’s block how do you break free? I write a paragraph or two to remind me of what needs to happen next to move the story where it needs to go. This helps me see the block, (or find the missing, or weakened, link).

Who is your perfect hero?  And why? Stay at home dads! The economy seems to have impacted fathers in a big way, now its mama out in the workforce while more dads are home cooking, cleaning, caring for the children, and raising future heroes. Oh, have to put my hands up for Bono of U2 for his ability to promote philanthropy on a universal scale AND be a husband and daddy-rocker.

What kind of research do you do for your books?  Do you enjoy the research process? Travel plays big in my research because I get to visit family that live in exciting places. Still, a trip to the farmer’s market can fuel the imagination! I went to the farmer’s market to buy some bread late one morning, and the vendor, a six-foot blue-eyed handsome hunk was packing up his goods, getting ready to leave. I bought some cranberry bread—then he threw a huge bag of everything else together– baguettes, French breads—handed it to me and said see you later. He was leaving and didn’t want to haul his goodies back to the bakery. This makes for humorous story; who expects to see a hot guy at the farmer’s market, much less one that bakes fragrant, fluffy pillows of heaven on earth?  Oh, and good old fashioned books from the library, thrift store, going on the internet—part of research is life experiences, or lifestyle. Sensual/erotic scenes are practiced on my husband. He’s a happy test subject. When I’m on vacation, I’m doing research.

What is your favorite movie of all time?  The one where you can watch it and still get affected at the same spots each and every time? I can’t have just one, Rayna! Most recent crazy comedy would be Forgetting Sarah Marshall—it affects me in that I laugh my butt off, plus its setting is beautiful Hawaii, drama would be the Titanic/James Cameron type movies.

What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing? Cooking a gourmet meal with my husband in our beautiful kitchen, curling up in bed with a glass of wine and a good book, and the “OBVIOUS.”

What is the one era you would love to go visit and why? Ancient Rome, their young ladies may have been able to pick and choose whom they married, and it seemed to be a society that understood hygiene/cleanliness.

What is your perfect pizza? Thick crust, cheese drenched and dribbly with crisped pepperoni fat, ‘shrooms, fragrant red onions and slivers of bell peppers, and it whispers “eat me…”

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one? Boss With Benefits, available February 19th 2010 from The Wild Rose Press  www.thewilderroses.com

What character out of all your books is the closest to your personality? Maybe the heroine in Boss With Benefits, but each leading lady in my sexy-tails has something about her that is unique to her. It’s the heroes that get to pushing these ladies’ buttons, or…yanking their tails!

Have you ever been nervous over reader reaction when a new book comes out? Yes, but my rhinoceros skin is tough. Confident. Deadly. I think. I have yet to experience that as my book is due to be released in a couple of weeks. I’ll let you know. What helps me calm my nerves is knowing that my book, before it sold, had to get a thumbs up from other editors in the genre or sub-genre, and the ultimate thumbs up from total experts; other readers.

How much does reader response mean to you over your books? A lot, but I don’t expect someone who doesn’t enjoy erotic romance to love or admire my artform. To me, an ideal reader is someone who can appreciate all genres. Erotic romance is a very intimate experience, too. You’ve invited the reader to watch, smell, taste, feel…

What do you hope readers get from your books after they read them? An orgasm.

If you could make a movie of any one of your books which one would you choose and who would you cast at the h/h? I LOVE THIS QUESTION!! It would be my untitled, unsold but nearly finished freaky faerie fantasy. It involves different worlds, otherworldly creatures, superhero sex, a rock singer, a blanket, a gypsy— hot actors/actresses would be employed! Delirious-hot Denzel Washington would be a warlord, cause I love me some Denzel. I am drawing a blank for the male lead, Daniel Craig maybe? Cause I love me some Daniel, too, lol. The female leads hmmm…I see Megan Fox’s face for one of them, just with waaayy more guts and attitude, she’d need these things to deal with Daniel Craig’s charisma.

What is your favorite color besides YELLOW? I know everyone loves yellow. Ha-ha, vivid flame orange-yellow, watcha think of that? And the vibrant avocado greens you see on digital cameras and Jeeps.

Boxers or briefs? Bikini cut briefs, the occasional thong but it rides up the ass, and I don’t like things riding up my ass all the time.

Red Pill or Blue Pill? Blue, the help-me-sleepy kind and only on occasion.

I want to thank Lelani for letting me interview her and good luck with the new release. You can find Lelani at her blog and website.

Newest Release:

Boss with Benefits

The Wild Rose Press

 www.thewilderroses.com

BUY

Hot Honolulu bachelor Jack Sloane has finally fallen in love. Problem is, he can’t find his woman–a mysterious beauty that showed up after-hours at his Waikiki office is nowhere to be found. Worse, she doesn’t seem interested in a repeat of the erotic night they spent together. The one person who can help him find his heart’s desire is his frumpy secretary.

Dowdy office wallflower Keely St. John has no intention of fanning her gorgeous boss’s flame. It’s bad enough she’s spent the last three months fantasizing about him. To make things even more complicated, her “sister” spent one lusty night with the island tycoon! When Jack finds out Keely’s secret, she could lose more than just her job and a Boss with Benefits.

  1. Hi Lelanie 🙂
    thanks for a great interview – I really enjoyed reading it!
    wish you all the best,
    Ina

Leave a Reply

