RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

5 Minutes with Giovanna Lagana

In 5 Minutes, Giovanna Lagana. on February 27, 2010 at 10:18 am

“5 Minutes with…” is a section of the blog that is a a set of questions that are pretty much the same give or take a few. That are meant for us to get to know our favorite authors a little bit more. Some are funny, some have nothing to do with their books; while others hopefully get to the “nitty-gritty” of what the author is thinking. Now let’s give a Naughty Chick welcome to Giovanna Lagana.

Bio:

Giovanna Lagana is an award-winning freelance author and editor, who loves to work with authors on   their stories as well as to create her own. In both instances, she gets to escape reality and travel into   worlds of fiction to meet the most interesting and memorable characters.

She’s married to her loving husband, Ghislain, and is a proud mother of three beautiful children, named   Mathieu, Nicholas and Isabelle.

When she isn’t busy playing with her kids, writing or editing, she spends her time reading. It’s no   surprise that her bookshelves are overflowing with an ever-growing To-Be-Read booklist.

What project are you currently working on? (C’mon, give us a hint!)

Many. J I’m working on a few speculative fiction short stories that have been nagging me to be written. I’m writing the second book “A Child’s Secret” in my romantic suspense/horror series “With Black & White Comes the Grey”, too. It’s coming along quite nicely. I love the direction my characters and plot are headed this time around. The story and characters seem to have taken on a life of their own, which is great to see.

I’m also working behind the scene on other writing projects, as well as editing manuscripts; all fun stuff. And the good thing is if I get writer’s block or hit an obstacle along the way, I can jump to another project and then come back to the other one at a later date.

What is your favorite snack?

Right now, I’m really into Yoplait Source Exotik Selection yogurts. They’re yummy and only 35 calories per serving, so I can indulge. J

I have heard from numerous authors that chocolate is the staple of their diet. Is it in yours?

Used to be, but recently I realized it’s also one of the causes for my migraines, so I’m trying to stay away from it even though it tempts me every day. But there are days when I can’t help myself and sneak in one teeny, tiny piece. J

Will electronic readers ever take the place of the humble paperback?

There will always be a niche for the paperback, as there will always be a niche for hardcover books, but eBooks will eventually become the biggest money makers in the industry thanks to cool devices like Kindle.

If you could be one of your characters – Who would you be?  And why?

It would have to be a character I can relate to the best. I’d have to say I’d want to be like Jonathan James in Book 2 “The Child’s Secret” of my series. His mind keeps changing. One day he wakes up and sees the world in a haze of blue. The next he’ll wake up and see it tinted red. He, like myself, is always trying to find the truth in everything around him, and sometimes he’s too blind to see the truth even if it’s staring at him right in the face. I, on the other hand, am blind to the truth most of the time. J

Who or what influences you when you write?

My emotions, my thoughts, my fears, my loves, my hates, my likes, my experiences, and even my nightmares. One of the reoccurring nightmares Miriam James has in Book1 “The Battle of Armageddon” of a holocaustic world and the Grim Reaper riding in on horseback looking for her and her kin is a dream I had when I was eleven. I had it off and on for three consecutive months. And each time he tapped the window with his boney finger and lunged for me, I’d freak out and wake up. The effect was the same every time. I swore my heart would break out of my chest for how fast and hard it pounded.

When you have writer’s block how do you break free?

I go onto another project for a while and then come back to it at a later date. Hopefully, by then I can get back into the story. Sometimes, if I’m still having problems, then I change an aspect of the plot or alter a character’s progress a bit.

Who is your perfect hero?  And why?

You mean apart from my hubby? He’s my real life hero. J

But in the fictional worlds I create, there isn’t one perfect hero. He is a warped blend of many traits, quirks, habits, etc. But he is always considerate, respectful, and loving. Someone the heroine can talk to about her ideas, fears, interests, loves, etc. He commits to the relationship completely—mind, heart, body, and soul.

What do you do for inspiration?

My inspiration comes to me. I don’t go searching for it. It just pops into my head, whether because of an article I’ve read or a movie I saw, or sometimes it’s what happens to me. A spark of an idea or a character is born in my head and then a story and other characters follow after that.

Is there a genre of book you would like to write but haven’t yet?

There are many. I’m the type of person who likes to try many different things, experience life to its fullest. See the world in a different scope each day. The same goes with my writing, too. But I’d say the next genre I’d like to tackle would be a YA mystery.

What kind of research do you do for your books?  Do you enjoy the research process?

It varies with each project. Yes, I enjoy it, but I’m notorious for going off on tangents. I may start out researching one thing, but along the way something else related or pertaining to it will cross my path and I’ll go off and look into that, too. So on and so forth. That is one of my worst traits. And on very, very rare occasions, I see it as one of my best. Yeah, I’m complicated. J

What is your favorite movie of all time?  The one where you can watch it and still get affected at the same spots each and every time?

Oh, there are many. But I’d have to say my favorite would be Bridget Jones’s Diary. It is just too funny and it’s hard not to fall in love with the quirky, clumsy, ignorant, insecure, adorable Bridget character. I root for her every time and when she finally finds happiness at the end, I cheer.

Leave a Reply

