RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

5 Minutes with Simon Lowrie

In 5 Minutes, Simon Lowrie on March 9, 2010 at 10:51 am

Please Welcome Simon Lowrie to Naughty Edition Reviews!

Simon is a wonderful writer of Erotic novels that deal with normal people living rather naughty lives.  Of course anything “naughty” peaks my interest so, when I had the opprotunity to read Marianne! a Journey around a Golden Sun I jumped on it. This book is due out on Amazon March 22. Mark your calenders people I think you will enjoy it.

Marianne! a Journey around a Golden Sun

Marianne and Simon have been more than friends since they were kids, but when she meets Mark her whole life changes. It’s not easy being spanked when you’re not used to it, but although the two men in her life are rivals the one thing they agree on firmly is that Marianne needs her wild side taming. And once she’s had a taste of what that kind of life can offer, she’s no longer sure she wants to argue. She loves them both and means to have it all, but Mark is not the kind of man to share. He breaks the triangle and makes her choose, but at a cost to everyone – himself included. Can Sophie save the day? She isn’t beautiful and dazzling like Marianne, and the special qualities she has aren’t on the surface. Sophie is a quiet girl who accepts Simon’s discipline with absolute humility and never one word of complaint. It’s how she wants her world to be, and her love for him goes past all limits. Shy and gentle though she is, perhaps her resolve to heal two broken hearts will prove to be more powerful than all Mark’s dominance and strength…Rayna: So, whatcha currently working on?

So let’s give Simon a very naughty welcome.

Rayna: Thank you for agreeing to this interview Simon, I know you said you were a little unsure of it but I really think it will be great. Its not everyday I get to talk to a male Erotic author. I honestly didn’t know any existed. (Yes I live in my own little world most of the time. It keep the crazies out, or is the in, I don’t know any more too many voices in my head.) So, what have you been working lately?

Simon: In-between bouts of apathy and inertia, I’m writing a (hopefully) erotic novel called Julia de Valdois. The full title was going to be the houseboy and The Master of Julia de Valdois, but fortunately a friend had a quiet word in my ear and told me just how idiotic this would be. It’s set in France in the 1960’s, so is unlikely to sell a single copy, but I know it’ll be my best book if I ever finish it.

Rayna: I will wait with bated breath then. What is your favorite snack?

Simon: When I forget to buy food I always think my forearm looks rather tempting, but on more organized days I get by with nuts ‘n raisins.

Rayna: LOL. I have heard from numerous authors that chocolate is the staple of their diet. Is it in yours?

Simon: Woot! I must be a real author then! Thank-you-thank-you! Because yes, I eat chocolate like a whale eats plankton.

Rayna: I would eat chocolate too if I wasn’t allergic to it. It’s a cruel cruel world.

Rayna: Will electronic readers ever take the place of the humble paperback?

Simon: Yes, probably. I’d guess sales will reach 50/50 between the two in about ten years, and in a generation, paperbacks will be high-end collector’s items for the rich and the odd.

Rayna: When you have writer’s block how do you break free?

Simon: I don’t break free, or even try. Most of the time my imagination is about as active as a cow in a field, so I have to make the most of it during my brief windows of inspiration.

Rayna: What kind of research do you do for your books?  Do you enjoy the research process?

Simon: We now have a Worldbrain, and its name is Google. If it’s not on Google, I refuse to believe it exists. From time to time I double-check I’m on it myself, just to be sure I was born.

Rayna: I hate to break this too you but even a Jackolope can be found on Google. And I believe half the websites say it a real animal too. Or that Big foot is real.

Simon: I shall cover my ears while you speak this heresy… J

Rayna: Do you believe in love at first sight?

Simon: Yes, but in the same way as I believe in Australia and UFOs: no personal experience whatever, but I have no reason to doubt the overwhelming evidence of other people. I have though, known strange-feeling-in-the-stomach-precursor-to-love at first sight, with the full disease setting in a week or so later.

Rayna: If you could change your name, what would you change it to?

Simon: Huh! This is an easy one! I fervently wish I’d called myself Simone Lowrie, as I’d have sold an awful lot more books if I had. When I read all this bilge about how men are incapable of writing romance and erotica as skillfully as a woman, it makes me want to spit.

Rayna: Yeah I read some of that crap too. I think it’s all about the imagination, and knowing what words to use to describe the feeling. Maybe you can come back and do a guest blog on your feeling or experience trying to get into the business of romance/erotic writing as a man. I think that would make a very interesting read.

Simon: Thank you. Okay, you’re on.

Rayna: Have you ever been nervous over reader reaction when a new book comes out?

Simon: I was very naive when I produced my first. Even though I wrote A Journey Round a Darker Sun entirely for myself, without a thought for the reader, I still thought everyone would love it. I made the mistake of thinking that each copy of a book is just that – a copy of the original, like a banknote printed off the plate. I then discovered each book sold is in fact a unique and one-off item, a synthesis of mysterious happenings in both the writer’s and the reader’s head. So, what actually happened was that opinions polarized in the most extreme way possible, for and against to the Nth degree. Not a single person has ever called it middling ho-hum so-so, which I suppose is a compliment of a sort. I took due note of all this while writing Marianne! a Journey Round a Golden Sun, and hopefully it won’t end up such a love-hate thing, but that remains to be seen.

Rayna: How much does reader response mean to you over your books?

Simon: It means everything.  There’s no money in books (unless you’re a lottery winner-type like Stephen King or Ms Rowling-Potter) so without feedback there’s not much point.

Rayna: What is the weirdest thing a reviewer has ever said about one of your books?

Simon: Hmm.. there’s fierce competition in the Weirdness stakes, but I’ll go for Mind Caviar’s review of A Journey Round a Darker Sun, which ended with: “…truly a one-of-a-kind, masterfully drawn, life-altering erotic work.” It was a very nice thing to say, of course, but it has to be conceded it’s also pretty weird – I hugely doubt any life got altered. Hell – even my life didn’t get altered, and I wrote the damn thing.

Rayna: What is the nicest thing a reviewer has ever said about one of your books?

Simon: Actually the comment I most treasure was a throwaway remark by someone on the Dear Author site, on a thread discussing another book entirely, and if it wasn’t for Google I’d never have seen it.  This guy (or girl?) said “… reminds me of two great classics of erotica: A Journey Round a Darker Sun and Story of O…”  That one gave me goose bumps for about three hours, but there was no shortage of Amazon readers calling it crap to bring me back to earth.

Rayna: Do you have a bucket list? If so, what are 2 things on it?

Simon: I don’t know. My burning question to you is – what is a bucket list? I think I have a bucket in the back garden, so hopefully it’s not too late to start. Please remember I’m a Brit, and we know absolutely nothing.

Rayna: A Bucket list of things you want to do before you die or “kick the bucket”. That was made rather famous by the movie Bucket List. It was rather sad but it was funny too.

Simon: Ah, I see. Well, if there’s a dolphin reading this who wants to swim with me before it dies, please get in touch.

Rayna:  What is your favorite color besides YELLOW? I know everyone loves yellow.

Simon: Huh! You can take your yellow and stick it where the sun don’t shine. The only color worth the name is blue, and all the others are imposters. In fact, I once went to a holistic’y new-age’y type healer chap, and he gave me colored cards to lay out in order of preference. At the end he shook his head sorrowfully, for I had chosen blue on blue on blue of different shades…

Rayna: Dakota Cassidy has turned another to her evil scheme. Scheme, you ask; you must know. Aren’t you one of her minions? It’s the one where she rids the world of YELLOW, that scheme. *sigh* I thought she sent you guys a monthly newsletter or something. For an Evil-doer group, you guys aren’t too organized. LOL (FYI Dakota Cassidy is my evil arch nemesis, well not really but we mess with each other about the yellow thing. I just try to yank her chain a lot. And get as many followers as I can.) If you want to convert. We have a group on FaceBook, P.E.T.Y. People for the Ethical Treatment of Yellow. *Muhahahaha*

Simon: I had no idea such great forces were at work in the world of color. Just for you, maybe I won’t spray my daffodils blue this year.

Rayna: Boxers or briefs?

Simon: Many years of life were wasted, but then, yes, I did indeed discover boxers.

Rayna: I would have thought you a thong man, myself. Given what you write about.

Simon: Well it’s true my heroines get spanked, but I reckon the guys doing it should be as comfortable as possible, and that definitely means silk boxers.

Rayna: Red Pill or Blue Pill?

Simon: Eh? Are you on drugs or something?  < scratches head about these strange Americans… >

Rayna: It’s a reference to the Matrix where Neo has the choice to remain with the matrix or become an independent thinking hero; The Savior of Mankind.

Simon: You’ve vastly increased my knowledge of buckets and pills today. I firmly believe anyone over thirty should stick with the Matrix and not rock the boat, on the basis that a peaceful life is a happy one.

Thank you Simon for talking with me a bit on your books and life. I hope to see you again and good luck on your new release.

Simon can be found at his website.

