RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

Interview with Laurie Marie Henion, Romanctic Suspense author

In Authors on March 12, 2010 at 1:38 am

5 Minutes with the author Laurie Marie Henion

Thank you Ms. Henion for talking with us today. Please let’s give her a nice and Naughty welcome.

What project are you currently working on?

I am currently working on another book for my COP’S DAUGHTER SERIES as well as a separate romance series called the MISS. SERIES. It will include a series of independent, stand alone stories with different characters. The main focus of each book to the series has to do with relationships, life changing events that alter a woman’s perspective and ideology on finding love, giving love a chance and overcoming tragic events and even multiple obstacles in life to ultimately achieve “true love”.

The first book to the series is called MISS. NEVER GONNA LOVE AGAIN.

If you could be one of your characters – Who would you be?  And why?

If I could be one of the characters from my books I would probably be either Victoria from COP’S DAUGHTER-VICTORIA or I would be Diana from COP’S DAUGHTER-DIANA. Both characters are independent, headstrong, resourceful yet somewhat vulnerable. In both stories the characters were able to improvise, adapt and overcome the barriers and conflicts. They also have an honorable agenda and belief in god, family and country.

Who or what influences you when you write?

When engaged in writing a story I find myself influenced by the real life experiences and stories of camaraderie, dedication and commitment that family members, friends and acquaintances have shared with me. It is not necessarily the specifics of a story or experience shared but the sensations, emotions, empathy and pride I feel as those experiences are shared. These types of conversations have a certain tone to them and being part of a first responder family makes a difference simply by the authenticity I can intertwine into the plot.

When you have writer’s block how do you break free?

When I have writer’s block I usually try to completely separate myself from writing. I work on another creative outlet like painting, exercising or volunteer work. I know it sounds crazy but the more hectic my life is the better I write. When my plate is overflowing with commitments and responsibility my creative mind goes into overdrive.

Who is your perfect hero?  And why?

My perfect hero must contain at minimum the following.

They must be patriotic and love their country. They need to have some sort of morals or values even if they have a “bad boy” persona. Perfection is not a priority for me. The perfect hero can win over an audience by his actions, manliness, voice, sexual appeal and a heroine’s response to that hero.

What do you do for inspiration?

Currently, my creative mind is in complete control of inspiring me. A simple thought or a type of character can develop into a whole story for me.

Is there a genre of book you would like to write but haven’t yet?

I would like to write a historical romance and a dark fantasy romance. It would take a lot of research and I would want to develop some kind of unique twist to each genre.

What kind of research do you do for your books?  Do you enjoy the research process?

I do a lot of research for my books. When I decided to write  my latest release FIRST ONE IN, LAST ONE OUT, I had conducted numerous interviews with firefighters, homicide investigators that had experience in investigating arson related homicides as well as multiple visits to firefighting facilities. The descriptions of use and handling of firefighting apparatus and conversations with firefighters helped to add the authenticity I require when developing a story. It was an amazing experience and inspired me immensely.

This is the type of research that I love. When I locate information or conduct interviews with first responders I not only gain the opportunity to enhance my knowledge of their job but also hear real life, true stories about their experiences, their sacrifices and the honor of their profession. It can be quite a humbling experience.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

I definitely believe in love at first sight. Through a combination of a higher power and recognition of the instant reaction by one’s sensory system such as touch, body temperature rising etc, I believe two people can meet for the first time and instantly know they have found their one true love. However, one must be open to the vibes, in tune to their gut instincts and not be overpowered by negative disposition or forces currently in their lives.

What do you hope readers get from your books after they read them?

My hope is that readers of my work continue to think about the characters long after they have finished the story and that they have a better understanding and empathy towards first responders and the sacrifices they make on a daily basis both professionally and personally. I hope they also can sense the emotions of each character and potentially relate to them because of how realistic those characters were portrayed.

What is your favorite snack?

I have two favorite snacks. One is Oreo cookies crumbled up in yogurt and the second is black corn chips lightly salted. Yum!

I have heard from numerous authors that chocolate is the staple of their diet. Is it in yours?

I love chocolate. As far as I’m concerned it is one of the major food groups. I especially enjoy chocolate with a nice glass of Cabernet or Merlot.

Will electronic readers ever take the place of the humble paperback?

I don’t think that electronic readers will take the place of paperbacks. I think there are too many readers out there who love the feel of a book in their hands. I also think that when a person reads a great book or actually meets the author of that book they want to hold onto something tangible. You can’t autograph an e-book. As convenient as e-books are I don’t think they will replace paperbacks.

I want to thank Ms. Henion for taking the time out to talk to me about her fascinating books. Her are a few to check out.

You can find her on her website or at Lachesis Publishing

Her latest releases are:

Leave a Reply

