RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

5 Minutes with Giselle Renard

In 5 Minutes, Giselle Renard on October 11, 2010 at 1:15 am

5 Minutes with Giselle Renard:

Eroticist, environmentalist and pastry enthusiast Giselle Renarde is a proud Canadian, supporter of the arts, and activist for women’s and LGBT rights. For Giselle, a perfect day involves watching a snowstorm rage outside with a cup of tea in one hand and a chocolate truffle in the other.  Ms Renarde lives across from a park with two bilingual cats who sleep on her head.

The best way to keep up with Giselle’s career in erotic fiction, as well as her desirous commentary and hyper-analysis of every facet of social existence, is to visit her blog.  With a name like Donuts and Desires, it’s gotta be good!

What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing?

Giselle Renarde: Nothing does it for me better than a cup of tea and a quality truffle.  If my girlfriend’s around to ravish me, that works too.

What is the one era you would love to go visit and why?

Giselle Renarde: World War II, absolutely!  With the boys were fighting on the front lines, a plethora of male-dominated jobs suddenly became available to women.  I would love to be in the factories and the fields with those girls as they exert their muscles, both socially and physically.  I have a grand appreciation of that era on a feminist level, and also as a queer woman.  One can only imagine what the girls got up in dark corners of munitions factories!

Have you ever faked sick?

Giselle Renarde: Only once.  I was sixteen years old and working in a department store that shall remain unnamed.  It was my grandparents’ 75th wedding anniversary, and I asked for the day off three weeks in advance.  My supervisor adamantly refused, so I called in sick.  I wasn’t going to miss such a special occasion.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

Giselle Renarde: I think I do, but I’m not sure why.  Any counter-argument sounds very anti-romantic in my head.

What is your perfect pizza?

Giselle Renarde: Depends on mood, season, and hunger level.  At times, I can go for a big, greasy slice of pepperoni pizza with plenty of melty mozzarella.  During the summer, I prefer a thin-crust pizza with basil and olive oil, fresh mozzarella, maybe some brie and figs…and a side salad.

Do you have a celebrity crush?

Giselle Renarde: Professor Snape.  Okay, that’s a fictional character crush, I guess…

If you could change your name, what would you change it to?

Giselle Renarde: I like my name.  I think I’d keep it!

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one?  If not, then which one is closest to.

Giselle Renarde: It’s extremely hard to choose, but I’ll go with “Secrets of the Solstice Sacrifice” because it is a rather unique work.  There aren’t many Welsh historical erotic MMF threesome fairy tales involving transgender characters on the market.  Not that I know of, at least.

What character out of all your books is the closest to your personality?

Giselle Renarde: Audrey from the “Audrey & Lawrence” collection is exactly the person I used to be.  She is involved with a married man, as I was for many years.  Her emotional states pivot from jealousy to ecstasy.  She can never be stable while they’re together.

Have you ever been nervous over reader reaction when a new book comes out?

Giselle Renarde: Have I ever NOT been? LOL

How much does reader response mean to you over your books?

Giselle Renarde: It means everything.  I don’t write for myself.  I write for readers.  Anything else is authorial masturbation, and what is the point in that?  A book that only sits on the shelf might as well not be there at all.

What do you hope readers get from your books after they read them?

Giselle Renarde: A greater understanding of the diversity that exists in this world.  We aren’t all white bread vanilla lovers.  There are many different ways to express gender and sexuality.  That’s what I’d love for readers to see in my work.

What is your favorite color besides YELLOW? I know everyone loves yellow.

Giselle Renarde: Burgundy.  It’s stood the test of time as my favourite.

Boxers or briefs?

Giselle Renarde: Everybody should wear lace undies.  They’re very sexy.  Especially if they’re burgundy.

Giselle Renarde
Canada just got hotter!

Visit me online
http://donutsdesires.blogspot.com
http://www.GiselleRenarde.webs.com
http://twitter.com/GiselleRenarde

Leave a Reply

