RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

5 Minutes with JoMarie Degioia

In 5 Minutes, JoMarie Degioia on March 24, 2011 at 2:13 pm

JoMarie Degioi AKA Josie Dennis writes steamy Historical romance novels with a touch of mystery. She’s a member of RWA, Space Coast Authors of Romance and From the Heart Romance Writers.  She will also chair the for the annual RWA conference in Nashville, TN July, 2010.

I want to thank JoMarie for taking the time to interview with us today. I am excited to have her here with us. She is a new author so give her some love.
What project are you currently working on?

I’m writing a very sexy Regency-set Historical featuring a hero who is seeking revenge using the only instrument he believes available to him: his power of seduction.  This guy is more than he seems, as I’m discovering daily!

If you could be one of your characters – Who would you be?  And why?

I think living in Michelle’s slippers (in PRIDE AND FIRE) would be a kick.  Having a hot devoted husband who lets you speak your mind when other ladies of your acquaintance are stifled?  To me there’s nothing sexier.

Who or what influences you when you write?

Sometimes a song on the radio will spark something in my current work-in-progress.  Mostly characters and situations just seem to form of their own volition.  Weird.

When you have writer’s block how do you break free?

I don’t believe in true writer’s block, but I have been blocked by a scene or two.  Usually it’s because there’s really no need for it or I’ve written it in the wrong character’s point of view.  It can take a while to figure out what’s wrong, though.  Grr.

What do you do for inspiration?

I watch the BBC production of Pride & Prejudice.  I like to do this when I have a day off, so I can watch all five and a half hours at one shot!

Is there a genre of book you would like to write but haven’t yet?

I think Young Adult would be a challenge, but my darn characters are too old.  And they like to get naked!

What kind of research do you do for your books?

Internet, books on History, old maps.  For my current WIP I had to know about the history of mining in Cornwall in the early 19th century.  Fascinating stuff, and it really gave me an insight into my hero’s motivation.  Do you enjoy the research process?  Gosh, yes.  Though research can be a huge time sucker.

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one?  If not, then which one is closest to.

The sequel to PRIDE AND FIRE has who is still the favorite hero I’ve written, Paul’s friend Lord Roberts.  Charming, solicitous, strong.  And he has no idea that the perfect woman was under his nose the whole time.

What character out of all your books is the closest to your personality?

Though I lack her stunning beauty (mine is less subtle, LOL) I identify with Michelle from PRIDE AND FIRE.  Spunky and outspoken and determined.

What do you hope readers get from your books after they read them?

Pure enjoyment.  And I want them to have that “hot eye moment,” when you read something that nearly makes you cry.  I love that in the books I read and I strive for it in books I write.  And if they get turned on by the love scenes?  Yeah, that’s great too!

If you could make a movie of any one of your books which one would you choose and who would you cast at the h/h?

I think I’ve written one heck of a hero in a sexy Contemporary we’re shopping around right now.  He’s a Forest Ranger and it’s set in the Sierra Nevada.  Who would play him?  Jeffrey Dean Morgan.  Big, handsome, and those dimples?  Yum.

What is the weirdest thing a reviewer has ever said about one of your books?

One wrote “WTF” to describe the hero and heroine’s relationship.  Nice, huh?  Thankfully most others got them.

What is the nicest thing a reviewer has ever said about one of your books?

One reviewer stated that PRIDE AND FIRE was the first book of mine she read and it wouldn’t be the last!  She loved the characters and Michelle’s outspokenness.

Will electronic readers ever take the place of the humble paperback?

I don’t believe so.  As cool as the new eBooks are, I believe people like toting around a paperback, breaking the spine, feeling the pages, and truly experiencing the book.  I do, anyway.

Most Current Release:

Pride and Fire
From Sinful Moments Press, an imprint of Lachesis Publishing
ISBN 9781897562208

Paul Talbot, Viscount Leed, is set on avoiding the marriage trap.  Though his fmaily has money troubles, he won’t marry an heiress and dance on her leading strings.  He discreetly writes speeches for Parliament, using his words to passionately express others’ opinions.

Lady Michelle Thomas is a spirited heiress, piqued with the rules of Society which dictate that a woman must be seen and not heard.  And if she has opinions on politics or finances?  Well, she had best keep them to herself.  Sparks fly when she meets Paul and she believes she’s found a man interested in more than her face, form and finances.

They wed, but when Paul refuses to take her very generous dowry she’ll do anything to see her money settled on him.  Even if it means going to his rival and putting more than his career in jeopardy.

 

Her Websites:

http://www.jomariedegioia.com/

www.josiedennis.com

Leave a Reply

