RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

Review: Bullet by Laurell K Hamilton

In Laurell K Hamilton, Paranormal Romance on July 8, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Bullet

by Laurell K Hamilton

ISBN:9780425234334

The music came back up and the next group of little girls, slightly older, came out. There was a lot of that in the next hour and change. I liked dance, and it was no reflection on the kids, but my will to live began to seep away on about the fifth group of sequined children…

Anita Blake is back in St. Louis and trying to live a normal life-as normal as possible for someone who is a legal vampire executioner and a U. S. Marshal. There are lovers, friends and their children, school programs to attend. In the midst of all the ordinary happiness a vampire from Anita’s past reaches out. She was supposed to be dead, killed in an explosion, but the Mother of All Darkness is the first vampire, their dark creator. It’s hard to kill a god. This dark goddess has reached out to her here-in St. Louis, home of everyone Anita loves most. The Mother of All Darkness has decided she has to act now or never, to control Anita, and all the vampires in America.

The Mother of All Darkness believes that the triumvirate created by master vampire Jean-Claude with Anita and the werewolf Richard Zeeman has enough power for her to regain a body and to immigrate to the New World. But the body she wants to possess is already taken. Anita is about to learn a whole new meaning to sharing her body, one that has nothing to do with the bedroom. And if the Mother of All Darkness can’t succeed in taking over Anita’s body for herself, she means to see that no one else has the use of it, ever again. Even Belle Morte, not always a friend to Anita, has sent word: “Run if you can…”

I just finished reading Bullet and I have to say it reminds me of the old Anita that some of us know and love but with the incredible sex. I mean face it Anita is to Sex as people are to oxygen. They both need it.

So Bullet is the start of a new story arc in the LKH world and I wholly approve. Because I can tell you the last book (not novella) we had a major bad guy get a really quick death. I think it was a few sentences. That really did piss me off at the time, but now I completely understand.  Also there seem to be a few loose ends that suggest that this next story arc is going to be full of sex and blood.  It wouldn’t be Anita if it wasn’t, right?

So now that we have the gang back together what do you do with them? Well you try to solidify their relationship by talking, a lot.  I found that there was so much dialog in this book I lost track of who was actually in the conversation. I would back track a few times or skip ahead until I saw a paragraph. *sigh* I love talking and getting all that baggage out but damn get a therapist. I can tell you this, Anita and a new man spent two pages (on kindle) talking about their scars when the smexing was supposed to be happening. If it was me I would have told the guy “we’re done I am no longer in the mood”. Then after all the smexiness, and to find out that you have not created a new bond, was a pisser. (Though I loved the scene minus the scar talk); I have to ask what the hell that was about then. If that is a getting to know you meeting, I need a few of those too.

Even with all my bitching, I like this book. It has been a long time since I have liked a LKH book. And *Shocker* I look forward to the next one. I stay tuned for the spoiler edition of this review.

Leave a Reply

