RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

Review: Animal Instinct by Gena Showalter

In Contemporary, Gena Showalter, review on November 5, 2011 at 1:19 am

Animal Instincts

by Gena Showalter

The red-hot author critics have called “fun,” “promising” and “exciting” has penned a sensual tale of a timid girl ready to channel her most primal instincts . . .

Unleashing your inner tigress isn’t easy when you’re a doormat by nature.  Still, after escaping a wretched marriage to a cheating SOB, Dallas party planner Naomi Delacroix is determined to enter the boxing ring of life — slashing first and asking questions later.  She isn’t about to let another man sweet-talk her into sheathing her protective claws.  Not even gorgeous millionaire Royce Powell, who’s hired her to arrange an extravagant surprise party. Even if he does make her purr like a kitten with one heated glance . .  .

First let me say I am NOT a huge fan of first person POV. Some authors can carry it off but unfortunately Gena Showalter, in my opinion, isn’t one of them. The humorous dialogue was muddied by the constant thoughts of the main character. I would have liked to know what the others were thinking just as much.

The annoying habit of constantly placing thoughts in (parentheses) was enough to make the reading very tedious. My only motivation to complete this book was so I could write my review. Would I recommend it? Umm…no I certainly wouldn’t.

