RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

Review: Spider’s Revenge by Jennifer Estep

In review, Urban Fantasy on November 9, 2011 at 8:00 am

Spider’s Revenge

by Jennifer Estep

Elemental Assassin novel bk 5

 

Sex: 1

Story:5

Overall: 3.5 (why a 3.5? because this is what we are grading on. If I had a plot rating then I would have a 4 there to help even it out. But we are NAUGHTY edition reviews. Sex is out main thang.)

 Old habits die hard for assassins.

And I plan on murdering someone before the night is through.

Killing used to be my regular gig, after all. Gin Blanco, aka the Spider, assassin-for-hire. And I was very, very good at it. Now, I’m ready to make the one hit that truly matters: Mab Monroe, the dangerous Fire elemental who murdered my family when I was thirteen. Oh, I don’t think the mission will be easy, but turns out it’s a bit more problematic than expected. The bitch knows I’m coming for her. So now I’m up against the army of lethal bounty hunters Mab hired to track me down. She also put a price on my baby sister’s head. Keeping Bria safe is my first priority. Taking Mab out is a close second. Good thing I’ve got my powerful Ice and Stone magic—and my irresistible lover, Owen Grayson—to watch my back. This battle has been years in the making, and there’s a good chance I won’t survive. But if I’m going down, then Mab’s coming with me . . . no matter what I have to do to make that happen.

Ms. Estep is a new to me author. Thisis Urban fantasy at its best. Gin, the main character, is iron willed and sharp witted, it made me wish I had read the other books first. However, I don’t think it would be necessary unless you want more detail of the background of the characters. Either way, I started bass akward…so I read book 5, loved it. Then went in search of the first four.

I really enjoyed this story. Characters are very likable and plot was not to complicated. I think there was a scene that sex happened but it didn’t happen in writing. In other words, it was not a detailed event because this is urban fantasy not romance or erotica.

Next book in this series:

By a Thread

Elemental Assasin Series

The sixth book in the USA TODAY bestselling Elemental Assassin urban fantasy series featuring Gin Blanco, who by day owns a Tennessee BBQ joint, and by night is a tough female assassin known as the Spider. I never thought I’d need a vacation from being an assassin….

My name is Gin Blanco, and I’m the assassin the Spider. All the Ashland’s lowlifes are gunning for me and trying to make a name for themselves by taking out the Spider. So I think it’s a good idea to get out of Ashland for a while until things cool down.

So I’m headed south to a swanky beach town, along with my baby sister, Bria, for a weekend of fun in the sun. But when an old friend of Bria’s is threatened by a powerful vampire with deadly elemental magic, it looks like I’ll have to dig my silverstone knives out of my suitcase after all. But this time, not even my own Ice and Stone power may be enough to save me from coming home in a pine box…

Also reviewed by Bek at AussiBookWorm

Leave a Reply

