RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

Review: Touch of the Demon by Diana Rowland

In Diana Rowland, review, Urban Fantasy on January 10, 2013 at 12:17 pm

touchofthedemonTouch of the Demon

Kara Gillian Series Bk 5

By Diana Rowland

Urban Fantasy

Sex: 3

Plot: 5

Overall enjoyment: 4

Blurb:

Kara Gillian is in some seriously deep trouble.

She’s used to summoning supernatural creatures from the demon realm to our world, but now the tables have been turned and she’s the one who’s been summoned.  Kara is the prisoner of yet another demonic lord, but she quickly discovers that she’s far more than a mere hostage.  Yet waiting for rescue has never been her style, and Kara has no intention of being a pawn in someone else’s game.

There’s intrigue to spare as she digs into the origin of the demonic lords and discovers the machinations of humans and demons alike.  Kara is shocked to discover that she has her own history in the demon realm, and that the ties between her and the demonic lords Rhyzkahl and Szerain go back farther than she could have ever imagined. But treachery runs rampant among all the lords, and she’s going to have to stay sharp in order to keep from being used to further their own agendas.  The lords have a secret that dates back to earth’s ancient history, and it could have devastating repercussions for both worlds.

Yet more than anything else, Kara’s abilities as a homicide detective will be put to the test—because this time the murder she has to solve is her own.

Review:

I can say a few things about this book.  Almost all of them are spoilers.  However, what I can say is this; things change, people stay the same; objects of power are sought out until they are destroyed; and it’s said that even Lucifer, with his cruelty was/is beautiful.

Kara has been through so much in the last two books, I was happy that something finally happened that I could cheer about.  I read this book in one sitting.  I cried, I got mad, I laughed, and with some of the events that took place I wanted to scream, “I told you so! What a dirty Bastard!”  (BTW, never scream that aloud in a coffee shop.  People tend to think you have turrets syndrome.)

The sex scenes in the book are good. Now you have to understand this genre is not romance or erotica, it is mystical fantastic mysteries that involve otherworldly entities, aka vampires, shamans, shape-shifters, demons, angels and anything else we can’t really explain logically. The focus is on the mystery through otherworldly means, not the sex.  (*cough cough* Laurell K Hamilton *cough cough*) Now with that said, the sex was great, left clues to what has happening without actually spelling it out or you. I personally believe that my imagination is much better than what any author can put in to words for me. Not because I am dirty bird, I am, but everyone has his or her own perception of something. Let them fill in the blanks with their very own version of naughty. I know I do it all the time.

By the end of the book, I found out some truths about characters that I thought were good that are bad. And, found that some bad guys were not really bad just misunderstood.  What a campy cliché.  I know but hey, it works for here.  So now in the end Kara’s still alive, so is all of her entourage, even Fuzzykins.

Leave a Reply

