RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

Review: Wounded by Jasinda Wilder (Military Erotic Romance)

In Erotic Romance, Jasinda Wilder, review on August 17, 2013 at 12:24 pm

16185789Wounded

by Jasinda Wilder

Blurb:

War has taken everything from me. My family. My home. My innocence. In a country blasted by war and wracked by economic hardship, a young orphan girl like me has very few options when it comes to survival. Thus, I do what I must to live, to eat, and I try very hard to not consider the cost to my soul. My heart is empty, and my existence brutal.

The one impossibility in my life is love.

And then I meet HIM.

War is hell. It takes a chunk out of a man’s very soul to do the kinds of things war demands of you. You live with fear, you live with guilt, and you live with nightmares. If you haven’t been through it, there’s no understanding it. War leaves no room for love, no room for tenderness or softness. You gotta be hard, closed off, and ready to fight every moment of every day. Lose focus for a split second, and you’re dead.

Now the only thing that can save me is HER.

Review

Sex: 2 – I just had a hard time feeling it. It might be because I had a hard time believing that after rapes and brutal sexual encounters at such a young age, that without therapy, this woman could so easily give herself to a wounded enemy warrior.

Plot: 5 – Wounded warrior saved by the broken Iraqi heroine. Sounds fabulous!

Overall Enjoyment: 3 – I like the idea of the book more than the actual story. I think that Hunter and Raina’s relationship progressed too fast and that made it unbelievable. However, the book was well written and I did enjoy reading it. It just didn’t live up to the hype or move me the way I had envisioned.

Excerpt: War has taken everything from me. My family. My home. My innocence. In a country blasted by war and wracked by economic hardship, a young orphan girl like me has very few options when it comes to survival. Thus, I do what I must to live, to eat, and I try very hard to not consider the cost to my soul. My heart is empty, and my existence brutal.

I really wanted to love this book. Military romance novels are one of my favorite genres. Sadly, this one fell flat for me. Raina is a beautiful Iraqi girl who has seen her entire family die because of the Gulf War. When she was a young teen, she had to kill an American soldier who shot her brother. Since then, that event has haunted her. Dyeing her brown hair blonde and changing her name to Sabah, Raina puts on a strong front that will help her make it day by day in the miserable life that has become hers.
Enter Hunter Lee, American soldier on another tour of duty after having his heart broken by the woman he loved back in the States. While on a mission, Hunter is seriously wounded, and having already killed one American soldier, Raina rescues him and attempts to bring him back to health in her own home, despite the very grave danger this puts them both in.
While recuperating, Hunter and Raina form a life-changing bond, one that kindred spirits often form since they have both experienced the pain and horrors of war.

“That long-dead blue-eyed man is why this American, Hunter, is in my home. Perhaps if I save him, I will not dream of dying blue eyes any longer. Perhaps I will see the living eyes, Hunters’s eyes.”

 

Leave a Reply

