RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

Three Broken Promises (One Week Girlfriend Quartet) by: Monica Murphy

In Erotic Romance, New Adult, review on December 17, 2013 at 9:20 am

Three Broken Promises

A Novel (One Week Girlfriend Quartet)

by Monica Murphy

New Adult, Erotic Romance

Blurb:
Breakout New Adult sensation Monica Murphy returns with a hot new contemporary romance—a heartfelt story of second chances, forgiveness, and redemption.

Commitment. That’s what I really want from Colin. Ever since my brother, Danny, died in Iraq, Colin’s done so much to help me, including giving me a job at his popular restaurant so I can leave my crappy waitress job at the strip joint. But lying in bed with him every night to comfort him from his horrible nightmares isn’t enough anymore. I know he feels guilty about Danny’s death, about not going to Iraq, but I can’t keep living this double life.

I love him desperately, but he’s got so many demons, and if he can’t open up to me now, then he’ll never be the real partner I need him to be. I gave him a month, and now I’m out of here. If he truly loves me like he says, he knows where to find me.

Review:

Plot: 4. While the blurb of this book gives a very simplistic idea of what’s going on in this story, trust me when I tell you there is so much more here. This story has a more complex plot dealing with Jen’s desperation to escape her family’s grief over the death of her brother and Colin’s almost crippling grief over Danny’s death. I don’t want to give too much away, but trust me that it’s even better that described!

Sex: 4. Oh the buildup in this book. I didn’t think these two were ever going to pull their heads out of their butts and get to it. When they did, someone should have called Smokey the Bear because they were igniting sparks all over the pages. The chemistry between Colin and Jen was almost tangible. Each and every scene was passionate, meaningful and most importantly, believable – perfectly executed. I think I sighed audibly on more than one occasion.

Overall: 4. I read this in a couple of hours without stopping. This was not by choice, but due to the fact that I couldn’t put it down. Reading this story was intense. I was instantly drawn to these two characters and I couldn’t help want to scream for them to get out of their own heads and just open up to each other. The fact that they are both so obviously in love with each other, fiercely protective of one another, but both still wracked with grief over secrets they carry and over the death of their loved one was a journey in emotions for me. This story felt so realistic and ripped my heart out at times over Colin’s noncommittal stance and Jen’s desperation for him to just love her. Ms. Murphy has written a wonderful story that I hope you do not miss out on. If you’re a fan of a “tug at your heartstrings” romance novels, Three Broken Promises is for you.

Leave a Reply

