RaynaatNaughtyeditionreviewsdotcom

Review: Arsen by Mia Asher

In review, Women's Fiction on December 21, 2013 at 9:21 am

9aabf4_d2da13242ced0b38dab08be3ffbe6a38.png_srz_p_444_595_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_png_srzArsen

A broken love story

By Mia Asher

Women’s Fiction, Contemporary Romance

Blurb:
One glance was all it took…
I’m a cheater.
I’m a liar.
My whole life is a mess.
I love a man.
No, I love two men…
I think.
One makes love to me. The other sets me on fire.
One is my rock. The other is my kryptonite.
I’m broken, lost, and disgusted with myself.
But I can’t stop. This is my story.
My broken love story.

Review:

**Contains Spoilers**

Wrecked. That is really the only way I can describe how I feel after reading this book. It’s a little over a week since I’ve finished it and I’m still reeling from it and processing it. I knew from the beginning that this wasn’t a fairy tale romance novel. I knew I was in for an emotion disaster. What I didn’t know was that I was going to be left emotionally devastated after reading it.
I don’t think I have ever hated a main character as much as I hate Cathy. If she were a real person, I would probably have to kick her ass for being such a selfish BITCH! That’s really the only way I can describe her. Despite hating her, I did connect with her. I felt genuinely sorry for the pain and struggles that she had to deal with, but I can’t fathom why she felt that cheating on her adoring husband with a twit like Arsen would make anything better. I probably would have understood more if she had turned to drugs. But then I suppose I wouldn’t have read this beautifully heart-breaking book.

Plot: 5. This book is about a selfish woman who thinks of no one but herself, doesn’t give a damn about who she destroys with her actions and is incapable of real love for anyone other than herself. The story is told mainly through Cathy’s POV, but does have a few wonderful flashbacks that give us glimpses into Ben and Cathy’s history together, as well as a few chapters from both Ben and Arsen’s POV.

Cathy and Ben have been together for 11 years and are unable to conceive a child. After years of heartbreak over miscarriages, Cathy decides that the best way to handle her grief and self-imposed guilt is to have an affair with the much younger (sexy as hell) bad boy, Arsen. (This will only make sense to heartless, selfish women.) While Cathy may be trying to alleviate her own pain, she is destroying two men in the process – Ben, her kind, caring and ever-devoted husband, along with Arsen. While Ben is the epitome of the perfect husband, Arsen is the typical spoiled rich kid who also only thinks of himself. While neither deserve the pain that Cathy causes, watching (reading actually) how she shatters Ben’s heart was gut-wrenching. I can’t tell you the amount of tears that I shed reading this book.

Sex: 4. This book is about cheating therefore this story contains a lot of graphic sex scenes. While I absolutely adored the sex scenes between Brad and Cathy, the scenes with Cathy and Arsen were painful for me to read, despite being wickedly hot. My heart broke a little more for Brad each and every time Arsen and Cathy were together.

Overall: 5. Even though this book did not leave me feeling warm and fuzzy upon completion, I still absolutely loved it and think it is one of the best books this year. I think one of my favorite things about this book was that it seemed so real to me. I could really see this happening to people or maybe it was that I felt so connected to these characters that I thought they were real. Either way, I walked away from the book feeling as though I hadn’t just read a “broken love story.” I walked away feeling I had just lived and experienced one myself.

This book will bring you out of your comfort zone and break you down bit by heart-breaking bit. While it may have been an emotionally exhausting journey, I am so glad that I was willing to take it. I will never forget this book and how it made me feel and to realize that some clichés are spot on and that you never know what you’ve got until it’s gone, but some clichés are dead wrong because the grass is NOT always greener on the other side. Just ask Cathy.

  1. Your reaction to the review made me immediately buy it. I had the same visceral reaction; I have never disliked a protagonist more–ever. Selfish. Self-serving. Immature. Just all around ugh! She mistreated both men.

    Asher has managed to surprise with a realism that you rarely see in erotic romance novels. It’s easy to relate to Cathy’s need to feel again. Still, desires do not have to become realities. It’s amazing that a woman that selfish could be surrounded by people who love her completely despite her being undeserving.

    It was a heartbreaking story. I don’t know if I’d read it again. It took me places that I wanted to forget I had been.

    • I am so glad you enjoyed my review and decided to pick it up. While being such a disturbing book, it is truly one of my favorites for 2013. I’m not sure I can read it again either, but so thrilled to have read it.

Leave a Reply

