Review: 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James

So, I broke down and read 50 Shades of Grey. I have mixed feelings about it. While I recognize that it is a great feat for the romance industry, I also think there are much better works out there that would interest the public.

I can not completely say I without a doubt I  hated it, but I will say this. Next time, get a few really good critique partners that have been published in the erotic genre to give you a feel of what you want your reader to feel from the characters. I was rather confused on the two main characters like or dislike of each other. The pain and angst often got in the way. It was a big case of  “The Man doth protest to much”. And then to have such an ending. WTH is wrong with the girl that she has to whine about everything. ME ME ME! That is all I heard from that character in my head. Somethings I have an instant dislike to characters when I read and I think it happened here big time.

I feel that 50SG was not the best representation of Erotic romance or erotica and makes the genre seem very Twilight-ish. Other authors like:

  • Deanna Wadworth
  • Lora Leigh
  • Joey W. Hill
  • Marteeka Karland
  • Jayne Rylon
  • N.J. Walters
  • Lexxie Couper
  • Nikki Duncan
  • Shyla Colt
  • Zenobia Renquist
  • Simon Lowrie
  • Damon Suede
  • Maya Banks
  • Sierra Cartwright
  • Brownyn Green

And that is just to name a few off the top of my head. If this type of story interest you then you must have an open mind to other authors. There are literally hundreds of new to you authors waiting for you to buy their books. There are even dozens of small print or online publishing companies that have dozens of FREE ebooks from these authors. All you have to do is try them. They even have heat indexes for you level of shyness. Even when reading some people still are not comfortable with some explicit words. I respect that.

With that being said, I am very honored to have read the book that was published by an unknown author who had to luck to find a niche and make it big. I wish you good journey in your trek in to writing. I look forward to seeing what you write next.

One thought on “Review: 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Add yours

  1. Finally! Someone who found it as bad as I did. I couldn’t even finish it. The characters were so shallow and one dimensional it drove me crazy.

    Another really good erotica author, one that regularly touches on BDSM is Lorelei James.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑